Last year, Massachusetts required employers of 50 or more people to offer 15 days of unpaid leave to address issues related to domestic violence. This year, the Massachusetts Attorney General issued a guidance outlining employer responsibilities under the Massachusetts Domestic Violence Leave Act.
If you have 50 or more employees, you must allow employees to take up to 15 days of unpaid leave from work in any 12 month period if the employee, or a family member of the employee, is a victim of domestic abusive and the employee needs a leave of absence to address issues related to the abuse. This applies to full-time and part-time employees.
The law has detailed requirements for when an employee can take leave and the proof an employee must bring to support a need for leave. The domestic violence leave law requires employers to give notice to your employees of their right to this new leave of absence. Therefore, you need to make sure your company has a detailed policy in place that complies with the law.
EmCo Consulting can help you review your current policies and provide you with a policy that meets the requirements of the Domestic Violence Leave Act.